Hockey India name squad for FIH Junior World Cup 2021

11 Nov 2021, Bhubaneswar: Hockey India today named 18 member squad for the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup 2021 scheduled to be held in Bhubaneswar from 24 November 2021. 

Vivek Sagar Prasad has been named the captain of the team. Vivek Sagar Prasad has recently won the FIH Hockey Stars Awards 2020-21 in the “Rising Player” category.

Hosts and defending Champions India are grouped in pool B along with Canada, France and Poland. The other teams in the tournament fray include Belgium, Malaysia, South Africa and Chile in pool A, Netherlands, Spain, Korea and United States grouped in pool C while Germany, Argentina, Pakistan and Egypt in Pool D.

Speaking about the team selection Chief Coach Men, Graham Reid said, “To choose the best 18 players to represent their country is one of the hardest things to do in sport. Each of these guys have put their everything into trying to make this team for the last 12-18 months. Through COVID, through sanctions and lockdowns, huge sacrifices have been made. We have chosen a group of 20 players, a team of 18 and 2 alternate players who we believe gives us the best chance of defending our title as Junior World Cup Champions. It is a well-balanced side with a lot of flexibility and flare. The key to these guys performing on the big stage will be to trust in each other and trust in their preparation.

FIH Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup 2021: Schedule

The Junior Men’s Camp was being held in SAI, Bengaluru in a bio bubble over the past few months. With less than three weeks left for the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup, the Core Probable Group will be vying to get used to the pitch at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium and get acclimatized ahead of the tournament.

Team India

Squad: Vivek Sagar Prasad (Captain), Sanjay (Vice Captain), Prashant Chauhan (GK), Pawan (GK), Shardanand Tiwari, Sudeep Chirmako, Rahul Kumar Rajbhar, Maninder Singh,  Vishnukant Singh, Ankit Pal, Uttam Singh, Sunil Jojo, Manjeet, Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem, Abhishek Lakra, Yashdeep Siwach, Gurmukh Singh, Araijeet Singh Hundal.

Coach: Graham Reid

Travelling reserves: Dinachandra Singh Moirangthem and Boby Singh Dhami