Tag: Pinki Jangra

Pinki Jangra turns professional

New Delhi: With an aim to increase strength and stamina Commonwealth Games bronze medalist, Pinki Rani Jangra has decided to turn pro. Pinky is the second women boxer after former world champion L Sarita Devi to become a professional boxer.

The 28-year-old Pinki has tied up with Sporty Boxing Private Limited, which is the commercial wing of Indian Boxing Council (IBC). IBC gives license to professional boxers in India. Sports Authority of India too had considered Pinki’s request and permitted her to shift from the SAI Center of Excellence, Hissar, to the SAI Centre of Excellence, Rohtak, where she will now train with the other IBC boxers.

Inspite of her becoming a professional, Pinki still harbors hopes of representing India in the Asian and Commonwealth Games next year. Pinki has started her professional training at the IBC National Camp at Sports Authority of India’s National Boxing Academy, Rohtak.

The only Indian boxer to defeat the country’s female boxing icon MC Mary Kom twice, Pinki was AIBA’s No.2 Ranked woman boxer in the World in 48 kg. The Haryana boxer had first hogged the limelight when she beat the then four-time World champion Mary Kom during the 2009 Nationals. Five years later, Pinki had prevailed over Mary Kom again to clinch a berth for the 2014 Common Wealth Games, where she eventually bagged the bronze.

Career Highlights:

2014 CWG – Bronze
2015 President’s Cup Open International Cup – Gold
2014 Nations Cup – Silver
2012 Asian Women’s Cup – Silver
2011 Arafura Games – Gold
India-Sri Lanka Duel Championship – Gold

1st Elite Women National Boxing Championship 2016 – 17 in Haridwar

1st Elite Women National Boxing Championship 2016 – 17 from 19–24 Nov'16 at Police Briefing Hall, Police Line, Roshanabad, Haridwar–249403Click To Tweet

Haridwar: Uttarakhand Boxing Association is conducting the 1st Elite (Senior) Women’s National Boxing Championship to be held at Haridwar from 19th to 24th November, 2016 at Police Line, Roshanabad, Haridwar. The tournament is scheduled to be organised under the supervision of “Boxing Federation of India”.

So far almost 400 boxers, coaches and officials including star boxers like MC Mary Kom, Sarita Devi, Pinki Jangra, etc from 34 States and Union Territories are. expected to compete in the Championship in 10 weight categories. Each match in the Competition will consist of 04 rounds of two minutes each, with rest of one minute rest in between the two rounds.

Hon’ble Union Sports Minister Shri Vijay Goel; Hon’ble Chief Minister Shri Harish Rawat; Shri Dinesh Agarwal (Hon’ble Sports Minister); Shri Ajay Singh (Hon’ble President; Boxing Federation of India); Shri Rajiv Mehta (Hon’ble President, Uttarakhand Olympic Association) are expected to be present during the opening ceremony on 19th November, 2016 to encourage the players.

Uttarakhand Boxing Association hopes that the Championship will provide opportunity for State level boxers not only to exchange punches with the experienced boxers but also improve their Technique and Tactics. The event is not only expected to encourage boxers but also provide an opportunity to the sports enthusiasts to see their favourite boxers live in action.

For more information, please contact:

Dr Dharmendra Bhatt,

The Secretary General,

Uttarakhand Boxing Association

Contact Number:- 0135 – 2781414, 2789794