Tag: MC Mary Kom

STI News – 22.12.2016

Mary Kom, Vikas get awards at AIBA 70th anniversary 

M C Mary Kom, a five-time world champion and 2012 London Olympic bronze-medallist and Vikas Krishan Yadav, a Asian Games gold-medallist and 2016 Rio Olympics quarterfinalist received the AIBA Legends award and APB (AIBA Pro Boxing) Best Boxer trophy, respectively at the International Boxing Association’s 70th anniversary in Montreux, Switzerland.

Akhil, Jitender gets permission to turn Pro boxers

Both Akhil Kumar and Jitender Kumar (2008 Beijing Olympics quarter-finalists) are now elegible to compete in professional circuit after their employer Haryana Police, granted them permission to turn professional. Akhil Kumar is a Gold medal winner at Commonwealth Games, while Jitender Kumar is a Asian bronze-medallist.

Ashwin, Jadeja occupy top two spots in ICC Test bowling chart
Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja made it a rare instance of two India bowlers topping the ICC Test rankings after the left-arm spinner’s maiden 10-wicket match haul against England.

Among all-rounders, Ashwin and Jadeja are ranked first and third respectively

Arjun Bhati wins in Kids Golf World Championship 2016
Arjun Bhati, 12, won the Kids Golf World Championship 2016 held in Malaysia. In the three stage fianl, Arjun shot a total of 234 championship points ahead of Matthew Dennis South Africa (236) and Ryan Li Wei Xian of Malaysia (239) points was third. Players from 21 countries participated in the tournament, which is being organized by US Kids Golf Foundation, it is the first time that the tournament was held in Asia. Arjun, who is coached by Monish Bindra has so far competed in 82 tournaments.
Indian women’s team go down fighting to Japan
Japan beat India in the penalty shoot-out in the semifinals of the 4th Women’s Under-18 Asia Cup hockey in Bangkok.

Final Score: Japan 1 (4) (Tamura Ayana 62′) beat India 1 (2) (Lalremsiami 5′)

121st Beighton Cup – Results

Pre-Quarter Final round:

Eastern Railway Sports Association 7 (Abhishek Singh (2), Silanand (2), Aslam Lakra (1), Saurav Kr Singh (1), Dipak Kullu (1)) beat Howrah Union 0.

In the Quarter Final league matches:

Bhubaneswar Hostel 3 [Teophil Kujur (2) Suman Kujur (1)] beat CAG 1 [Nithin Timmaiah] 

Bharat Petroleum 12 [Sher Singh (2), Jarnail Singh (2), & one goal each by Ehtesham Khan, Manpreet Singh, Amir Khan, Harmanpreet, Lalit Upadhyay, Varun Kumar, Hari Prasad , Tushar Khandekar] beat Police AC 1 [Atanu Saha]

Indian Oil 8 [Sanjay Kumar (3), Raghunath VR (2), Gurjinder Singh (2), Khothajit Singh (1)] beat Central Secretariat 1 [Jayesh Jhadav]


1st Elite Women National Boxing Championship 2016 – 17 in Haridwar

1st Elite Women National Boxing Championship 2016 – 17 from 19–24 Nov'16 at Police Briefing Hall, Police Line, Roshanabad, Haridwar–249403Click To Tweet

Haridwar: Uttarakhand Boxing Association is conducting the 1st Elite (Senior) Women’s National Boxing Championship to be held at Haridwar from 19th to 24th November, 2016 at Police Line, Roshanabad, Haridwar. The tournament is scheduled to be organised under the supervision of “Boxing Federation of India”.

So far almost 400 boxers, coaches and officials including star boxers like MC Mary Kom, Sarita Devi, Pinki Jangra, etc from 34 States and Union Territories are. expected to compete in the Championship in 10 weight categories. Each match in the Competition will consist of 04 rounds of two minutes each, with rest of one minute rest in between the two rounds.

Hon’ble Union Sports Minister Shri Vijay Goel; Hon’ble Chief Minister Shri Harish Rawat; Shri Dinesh Agarwal (Hon’ble Sports Minister); Shri Ajay Singh (Hon’ble President; Boxing Federation of India); Shri Rajiv Mehta (Hon’ble President, Uttarakhand Olympic Association) are expected to be present during the opening ceremony on 19th November, 2016 to encourage the players.

Uttarakhand Boxing Association hopes that the Championship will provide opportunity for State level boxers not only to exchange punches with the experienced boxers but also improve their Technique and Tactics. The event is not only expected to encourage boxers but also provide an opportunity to the sports enthusiasts to see their favourite boxers live in action.

For more information, please contact:

Dr Dharmendra Bhatt,

The Secretary General,

Uttarakhand Boxing Association

Contact Number:- 0135 – 2781414, 2789794