Tag: Jeje Lalpekhlua is the “Player of the Year 2016”

STI News – 23.12.2016

4th Women’s Under-18 Asia Cup: India win Bronze Medal
Bangkok: India blanked Korea 3-0 to clinch a bronze medal in the 4th Women’s Under-18 Asia Cup hockey tournament here on Thursday. Sangita Kumari scored twice in the 55th and 58th minute after Ritu had put India ahead in the 45th minute.

FULL TIME: India – 3 (Ritu 45′, Sangita Kumari 55′,58′) beat South Korea –  0

121st All India Beighton Cup tournament
Kolkata: Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), Punjab National Bank (PNB) and Eastern Railway Sports Association (ERSA) scored victories over Rail Coach Factory (RCF Kapurthala), Bhubaneswar Hostel and Punjab & Sind Bank respectively, on Thursday in the Quarter Final league of the 121st All India Beighton Cup tournament.


BPCL – 6 beat RCF, Kapurthala – 3. (Amir Khan of BPCL scored a hat-trick.)
PNB – 5 beat Bhubaneswar Hostel – 2
ERSA – 6 beat Punjab & Sind Bank – 4

Mahesh Bhupathi named captain of India’s Davis Cup team
Mahesh Bhupathi will take over the non playing captain’s role of Indian Davis Cup team from Anand Amritraj next year after India’s Davis-Cup Group 1 Asia/Oceania first round-tie against New Zealand in February 2017.
Jeje Lalpekhlua is the “Player of the Year 2016”
On Thursday, All India Football Federation selected Jeje Lalpekhlua as the “Player of the Year 2016”. Apart from scoring 5 goals in 6 matches for the Indian National Team, he also scored goals in 14 matches for his I-League club Mohun Bagan AC. In the Hero Indian Super League, he scored 3 goals in 9 matches for his club Chennaiyin FC.

ICC Awards 2016 

  1. Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  2. ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)​
  3. ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – Quinton de Kock (South Africa)
  4. ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
  5. ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)​
  6. ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)
  7. ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies ) (ICC WT20 India 2016 final vs England, Kolkata)​
  8. ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
  9. David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year – Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
  10. ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)​
ICC Test Team of the Year 2016: – David Warner, Alastair Cook (C), Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Adam Voges, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Rangana Herath, Dale Steyn, Steve Smith (12th man)
ICC ODI Team of the Year 2016: –  David Warner, Quinton de Kock (wk), Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Jos Buttler, Mitchell Marsh, Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, Sunil Narine, Imran Tahir (12th man)