Tag: 121st All India Beighton Cup Hockey Tournament

Indian Oil lifts 121st All India Beighton Cup

Kolkata Dec, 27: Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) won the 121st All India Beighton Cup Hockey Tournament after Bharat Petroleum (BPCL) 5-3 in the final played at SAI Complex in Kolkata on Tuesday.

India defender Gurjinder Singh opened the scoring in the 4th minute, before S.K. Uthappa doubled the lead in the 12th minute. Another goal by Gurjinder Singh in the 22nd minute helped Indian Oil take a 3-0 lead at break.

Bharat Petroleum made a comeback of sorts in the second half as Amir Khan and Varun Kumar scored in 42nd and 44th minute, respectively. However, former India forward Deepak Thakur scored a fine field goal in the 45th minutes for Indian Oil. Another field goal by Prabhjot Singh in the 48th minute virtually sealed the match in favour of Indian Oil. Though, Harmanpreet Singh converted a penalty corner for Bharat Petroleum in the 63rd minute. In the end his goal only reduced the margin, as Indian Oil managed to hold on to their two goal lead.

This was Indian Oil’s 5th All India Beighton Cup title. Indian Oil had lost to Punjab National Bank (PNB) in the finals, last year.

Final Score:

Indian Oil – 5 (Gurjinder Singh 4’ & 22’, S.K. Uthappa 12’, Deepak Thakur 45’, Prabhjot Singh 48’) beat Bharat Petroleum – 3 (Amir Khan 42’, Varun Kumar 44’, Harmanpreet Singh 63’)

Best player of the Tournament: Kothajit Singh (Indian Oil)

Fairplay Trophy: Central Secretariat