India retains SAFF Women’s Championship 2016 trophy

Siliguri, Jan 4: India beat Bangladesh 3-1 in the final at the Kanchenjunga Stadium in Siliguri on Wednesday to win their fourth SAFF Women’s Championship title in as many editions.

Dangmei Grace scored the first goal in the 12th minute. In the 40th minute, Shopna scored the equaliser. Both teams headed into the half time 1-1.

Sasmita Malik put India ahead in the 60th minute. A howler by the Bangladesh Goalkeeper in the 67th compounded Bangladesh’s misery & held onto the lead to secure the SAFF title for the 4th consecutive time

India has an enviable record of 18 wins and one draw out of 19 matches that they have played in the tounament’s history so far.

Final Score:

India 3 (Dangmei Grace 12′, Sasmita Malik 60′, Indumathi 67′) beat Bangladesh 1 (Sirat Jahan Shopna 40′)

Starting XI (India): Aditi Chauhan (GK), Umapati Devi Thokchom, Ashalata Devi Loitongbam, Manisa Panna, Premi Devi Yumlembam, Kamla Devi Yumnam, Bala Devingangom (C), Sasmita Malik, Dangmei Grace, Indumathi Kathiresan, Dalima Chhibber.

Facebook Comments


  1. That is really attention-grabbing, You are a very professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to in search of more of your fantastic post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *