Category: Volleyball

Kerala and Railways are Senior National Volleyball Men’s and Women’s champions

Chennai, Dec 29: Kerala men took revenge of their previous edition’s final loss to Indian Railways, while Indian Railways’ women’s team won rallied to beat Kerala on the final day of the 65th Senior National Volleyball championships at a packed JN indoor stadium, on Friday.

Kerala men’s team had to battle tooth and nail against defending champions Indian Railways before coming out winners with a 25-17, 20-25, 26-24, 25-27, 15-9 verdict.

In the women’s category Indian Railways beat Kerala 25-21, 21-25, 25-15, 25-21 for the ninth time in a row. It was Indian Railways’ (Women) 31st overall title win out of 65 editions so far played.

Host Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra took the bronze medal in the men’s and women’s categories, respectively.

Final Results:

Men’s Gold Medal Match: Kerala beat Indian Railways 25-17, 20-25, 26-24, 25-27, 15-9.

Men’s Bronze Medal Match: Tamil Nadu beat Punjab 20-25, 25-20, 34-32, 25-21.

Women’s Gold Medal Match: Indian Railways beat Kerala 25-21, 21-25, 25-15, 25-21

Women’s Bronze Medal Match: Maharashtra beat AP 25-15, 25-17, 25-9.

65th Senior National Volleyball Championship for Men and Women

Chennai Dec, 29: Defending champions Railways entered the men’s final of the 65th Senior National Volleyball Championship with a 25-17, 25-23, 22-25, 25-23 win over Punjab at the Nehru indoor stadium here on Thursday.

In the other semifinal, Kerala beat host Tamil Nadu 19-25, 25-19, 25-23, 25-16 to setup a rematch of previous edition held at Sree Kanteerava Indoor Stadium, Bangalore.The Railways women got the better of Andhra Pradesh 25-12, 25-12, 25-10 to enter the finals.

The Railways women’s team will be gunning for their 31st overall and 9th straight title, when they meet Kerala on Friday. In another semifinal, Kerala overcame Maharashtra 25-18, 21-25, 25-21, 25-14. Just like the men’s category the women’s final will also be a rematch of the 64th edition of the Senior National Volleyball Championship.

Semi Finals – Results

Railways beat Punjab: 25-17, 25-23, 22-25, 25-23
Kerala beat Tamil Nadu: 19-25, 25-19, 25-23, 25-16

Railways beat Andhra Pradesh: 25-12, 25-12, 25-10
Kerala beat Maharashtra: 25-18, 21-25, 25-21, 25-14