The tournament’s history can be traced back to the beginning of the 20th Century, when the MCC conducted its first hockey tournament ‘Madras Challenge Cup’ in 1901. The tournament later named the A.M.M. Arunachalam Challenge Cup after the first Indian President of Madras Cricket Club. The Murugappa Group began its association with the tournament in 1962, when it sponsored the trophy as a mark of respect to AMM Murugappa Chettiar on his 61st birthday.

One of the premier domestic tournaments in Indian hockey, it is organised by Madras Cricket Club (MCC) and the Murugappa Group. The tournament took on its current form in the mid-nineties, when the MCC and Murugappa Group joined hands to conduct the first ‘MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup’.

The 91st edition of the tournament was played at the Major Radhakrishnan Stadium in Egmore, Chennai.

A list of winners for last 20 years is given below:-






91st 2017 ONGC 4-2 Bengaluru HA
90th 2016 Indian Railways 2-1 Indian Oil Corporation
89th 2015 Indian Oil Corporation 3-2 Army XI
88th 2013 Indian Oil Corporation 6-4 Indian Overseas Bank
87th 2012 Air India Indian Oil Corporation
86th 2010 ONGC 2-1 Indian Oil Corporation
85th 2009 Army XI 2-1 Bharat Petroleum
84th 2008 Air India 6-5 Indian Oil Corporation
83rd 2006 Bharat Petroleum Indian Oil Corporation
82nd 2005 Army XI 7-6 Tamil Nadu XI
81st 2003 IHF Juniors 5-3 Indian Railways
80th 2002 Indian Airlines Karnataka XI
79th 2001 IHF Juniors 6-5 Indian Railways
78th 2000 Punjab & Sind Bank 2-1 Tamil Nadu XI
77th 1999 IHF Seniors Mumbai XI
76th 1998 Indian Airlines 3-0 Mumbai
75th 1997 IHF Juniors 1-0 Indian Airlines


Comments are closed.