121st Beighton Cup hockey tournament

New Delhi, Dec 18: The 121st edition of the coveted Beighton Cup will be held from December 19 at SAI Sports Complex, Salt Lake City, Kolkata.

The Beighton Cup is organised by the Bengal Hockey Association, is the one of the Oldest running Field Hockey Tournament in the World.
Punjab National Bank are the defending champions. Last year they beat four-time champions Indian Oil Corporation in the shootout to win their maiden title.
Star players like S.V. Sunil, William Xalxo, Manpreet Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh, Pardeep Mor, Gagandeep Singh, Nithin Thimmaiah, Deepak Thakur, Devesh Chauhan and Prabhjot Singh are expected to take part in the 9 day tournament.
The teams will be divided into four groups of three each. The top teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals.
The winners will be bestowed with a prize Rs 3 Lakh while the runners up will be getting Rs 1 Lakh.